DUI Second Offense Penalties
This post focuses on the penalties for “Second Offense” DUI charges – meaning a person’s second charge within a ten (10) year period. If you are looking for other DUI penalty ranges, find your correct link below:
If this is your first charge, please see my post on DUI First Offense Penalties here.
If this is your third charge, please see my post on DUI Third Offense Penalties here.
If this is your fourth charge, please see my post on DUI Fourth Offense Penalties here.
Mandatory Jail Time
7 – 180 days in county jail
With “aggravator” : 14-180 days
12 – 18 months
With “aggravator” : 12 – 18 months
Driver not eligible to regain driver’s license until completion of ADE classes.
Immediately eligible for issuance of the ignition interlock device.
For a second DUI conviction in KY, the offender would need to complete a one-year substance abuse program.
Look-back Period / Enhancement
Will be used to “enhance” any DUI charge brought against the driver in the ten (10) years following the date you were charged.
Fines, Fees, and Costs
$350 – $500
In addition to the mandatory fine that needs to be paid, drivers must keep in mind other costs and fees added to their total payment. The total amount due to the Court typically ends up being between $750 and $900.
Under Kentucky DUI Laws, Driver’s license will be suspended at arraignment.
12 – 18 months.
A “refusal” (declining to take the test offered by the police) is an “aggravator” on a Second DUI Offense.
Exercise Your Rights
There are many ways to attack a Kentucky DUI charge. Our team of DUI defense lawyers analyzes use various methods to quickly obtain evidence to begin building your defense. We recommend every person accused of drunk driving or driving under the influence of alcohol allow an experienced attorney to look at their case before pleading guilty. The charge is simply too serious to not defend. Because it is a second offense DUI, you are looking at a substantial amount of jail time and other DUI penalties. Don’t plead guilty without defending yourself. To speak with a DUI attorney today about your case, call our law office at 859-258-2697. We are ready to help!